New members join Baptist Health’s Board of Directors

The Board serves a key role for the area’s only locally owned, locally governed health system.

Jacksonville, FL

Baptist Health appointed three new members to its Board of Directors for the health system. The Board plays a key leadership role in advancing the mission of the not-for-profit, locally owned, locally governed health system.

“We are fortunate to add each of these individuals’ diverse perspective and experience expertise to the Board of Directors,” said Michael A. Mayo, DHA, FACHE, president and CEO at Baptist Health. “Their volunteer role in the health system is a key differentiator – decisions about Baptist Health and its role in the Jacksonville community are made by respected, local leaders.”

The new members include:

Mark LaBorde, CEBS, has more than 30 years of health care management experience and retired as senior vice president and head of enterprise sales, product and marketing at Aetna, Inc. in 2017. LaBorde joined the Baptist Medical Center Jacksonville Board of Directors in 2019. He also currently serves as the chair elect on the Board of Directors for the Cathedral Arts Project and on the Board of Trustees for Episcopal School of Jacksonville. LaBorde graduated from Emory University with a bachelor’s degree in Business Marketing and Finance and holds a Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS) designation from the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans.

Ilene Levenson, MD, served as a board-certified internal medicine physician in Jacksonville for nearly 35 years before retiring from Baptist Primary Care - Baymeadows in January 2023. While practicing at Baptist Health, she served as the board chair of Baptist Physician Partners, the Baptist Physician Partners Clinical Transformation Council and the Baptist Physician Partners Accountable Care Organizations Board. She went beyond expectations to advance Baptist Health’s value-based care strategy and played a key role in building bridges between all physicians throughout the health system. She received her bachelor’s degree from University of Florida before continuing to University of Florida College of Medicine for her medical degree.

Rachael Tutwiler Fortune is the president of Jacksonville Public Education Fund and also serves as an adjunct instructor in Leadership at the University of North Florida. In her role at Jacksonville Public Education Fund, she is committed to helping close the opportunity gap between historically underserved students and their peers in Duval County’s public schools. Fortune, who is a Jacksonville native, holds a master’s degree in Education Policy, Organization and Leadership from Stanford University and a bachelor's degree in Political Science from the University of North Florida. She was recognized by Jacksonville Business Journal as one of the First Coast’s 40 under 40 in 2020 and is a member of Leadership Jacksonville’s Class of 2022. There were also new appointments to hospital and physician group boards this spring.

New board members at Baptist Medical Center South include Allison Bovee, Emily Dawkins, Julie Merten, PhD, Veronica Lee, Hugh Matthews and Jeremy Wood, MD.

The Wolfson Children’s Hospital Board of Directors welcomed a new member, Anne Egan, MD.

New board members at Baptist Physician Partners include Sofija Rak, MD; Linda Di Teodoro, MD; Amy Greenwald, MD; and Brian Gilligan, MD. New board members for Baptist Physician Partners’ Accountable Care Organizations include Sofija Rak, MD; Matthew Braddock, DO; and Craig Shapiro, MD.