Michael Defazio, MD

Michael Defazio, MD

Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon

4.9 out of 5 stars 4.9 (120)

Patient Reviews

All reviews have been submitted by patients after seeing the provider. Actual comments are displayed while preserving patient confidentiality.

Reviews (120)

SORT BY

  • Patient Review 1

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 29, 2024 | Verified Review

    Always caring


  • Patient Review 2

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 27, 2024 | Verified Review

    Everyone was very helpful and nice


  • Patient Review 3

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 27, 2024 | Verified Review

    From the start of my appointment, the 2 MAs that took my vitals and reviewed my information were delightful and professional, putting me at ease. Dr. DeFazio is amazing! He is knowledgeable and explains options clearly. He looked for input from me, answered my questions and addressed my concerns. Our conversation indicated that he had throughly reviewed my chart before meeting with me. As importantly, he is empathetic and compassionate. I would recommend him to family and friends without hesitation.


  • Patient Review 4

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 23, 2024 | Verified Review

    Always real with me...


  • Patient Review 5

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 22, 2024 | Verified Review

    Doctor took time to answer my questions in a professional manner without rushing through.


  • Patient Review 6

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 13, 2024 | Verified Review

    Physician/surgeon took time to explain a very complicated situation with several possible causes requiring different treatment approaches by more than one type of surgeon.


  • Patient Review 7

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 06, 2024 | Verified Review

    Everything was wonderful. Everyone was helpful and polite. Facility was very clean.


  • Patient Review 8

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 30, 2024 | Verified Review

    Dr. Defazio is an amazingly talented and caring surgeon. I have been blown away with my results from post breast cancer reconstruction and the level of care and skill that I have received.


  • Patient Review 9

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 30, 2024 | Verified Review

    Wonderful doctors


  • Patient Review 10

    3 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 23, 2024 | Verified Review

    The past 2 appointments I???ve waited 2 hours to see the dr. The has got to be a better way to schedule patients.


  • Patient Review 11

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 23, 2024 | Verified Review

    Dr. DeFazio is a wonderful physician


  • Patient Review 12

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 16, 2024 | Verified Review

    All the care I have recieved from MD Anderson has been efficient, proffesional and excellent!


  • Patient Review 13

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 10, 2024 | Verified Review

    EVERYTHING


  • Patient Review 14

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 09, 2024 | Verified Review

    Great customer service and I have the best Dr. Do. Defazio


  • Patient Review 15

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on December 20, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everything is so well organized. The team at the office work seamlessly together. The next steps in my care were outlined clearly by my doctor and supporting team members. They gave me options and a feeling of agency over my body and my outcome. After getting swept up in the whirlwind of cancer diagnosis and treatment and feeling like just one of many???having a feeling of control and the ability to trust the process of follow up care is so so important!!!


  • Patient Review 16

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on December 15, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone was caring n polite. Very helpful.


  • Patient Review 17

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on December 14, 2023 | Verified Review

    Very pleasant office staff. Everyone is kind, respectful, helpful & efficient! Dr. DeFazio has a very calm & stress-free personality. You can tell he cares about his patients outcome.


  • Patient Review 18

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on December 12, 2023 | Verified Review

    The staff is always friendly and efficient


  • Patient Review 19

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on December 06, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone was exceptional at Baptist Beaches surgical department


  • Patient Review 20

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on December 06, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone there is amazing!


  • Patient Review 21

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on December 05, 2023 | Verified Review

    The doctor was very caring and responsive


  • Patient Review 22

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 29, 2023 | Verified Review

    Dr Defazio is the best Dr. I???ve been under his care for a long time. The receptionist are also kind


  • Patient Review 23

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 29, 2023 | Verified Review

    The kindness, the understanding, and the attention at my questions. And for sure the professionalism that makes me every time know I???m in good hands.


  • Patient Review 24

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 28, 2023 | Verified Review

    Dr. Defazio is very patient and always answers all my questions!


  • Patient Review 25

    4.6 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 28, 2023 | Verified Review

    The staff is very professional. It puts your mind at ease, or as close to ease as your condition allows, knowing that you are in the hands of professionals who take their job seriously. The customer service ladies, a smile with you and make you feel as though you are the first/only patient to walk through their doors!


  • Patient Review 26

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 25, 2023 | Verified Review

    The people


  • Patient Review 27

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 21, 2023 | Verified Review

    Highly skilled, compassionate, and personable.


  • Patient Review 28

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 14, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone seems to care about you and are very helpful.


  • Patient Review 29

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on November 02, 2023 | Verified Review

    The staff & surgeon are very pleasant to work with. Couldn???t ask for better!!


  • Patient Review 30

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 31, 2023 | Verified Review

    All the staff there are very professional and kind. I loved


  • Patient Review 31

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 18, 2023 | Verified Review

    Doctors and nurses were very professional, polite and cares.


  • Patient Review 32

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 18, 2023 | Verified Review

    Very caring and concerned for my wellness.


  • Patient Review 33

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 17, 2023 | Verified Review

    My experience with MD Anderson has been incredible . The doctors, medical staff, office assistants (checking in for an appt.) & schedulers show genuine kindness and concern. They provide a support system you didn???t even know you needed, until you did. The people that work with MD Anderson continue to provide excellent services, even after I???ve successfully made it through the scariest part of my cancer journey. I???m blessed. Thank you all!


  • Patient Review 34

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 17, 2023 | Verified Review

    Professional and kind staff, efficient and beautiful building


  • Patient Review 35

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 04, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everything


  • Patient Review 36

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 04, 2023 | Verified Review

    Dr. Defazio and staff were very helpful and informative. I feel like I am getting the best care possible. Thank you.


  • Patient Review 37

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on October 03, 2023 | Verified Review

    Professionalism, knowledgeable and personable


  • Patient Review 38

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on September 20, 2023 | Verified Review

    THE STAFF CARED ABOUT ME. PROFESSIONALISM WAS SHOWN AS WELL.


  • Patient Review 39

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on September 19, 2023 | Verified Review

    All physicians are caring and extremely knowledgeable . Staff all accommodating .


  • Patient Review 40

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on September 19, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everything was organized, all the staff were capable, and kind. They run you through from one team member to another, each link in the chain, as strong as the next. I was very impressed.


  • Patient Review 41

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on September 05, 2023 | Verified Review

    Always timely. Always respectful. The care I have received to date has been a wonderful experience, all things considered.


  • Patient Review 42

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 30, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone was polite. Facility was clean.


  • Patient Review 43

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 29, 2023 | Verified Review

    Check-in staff learns patients by name, greets them cheerfully and are so pleasant!


  • Patient Review 44

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 29, 2023 | Verified Review

    Dr Defazio really sits down with you and answers all your question and concerns. I would recommend him to everyone i can.


  • Patient Review 45

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 23, 2023 | Verified Review

    Their pleasant professionalism and attention to any questions or concerns I might have had.


  • Patient Review 46

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 22, 2023 | Verified Review

    Caring staff


  • Patient Review 47

    4.2 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 16, 2023 | Verified Review

    The pa I saw was not knowledgeable in things I asked her


  • Patient Review 48

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 08, 2023 | Verified Review

    The staff caring and understanding your need.


  • Patient Review 49

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 08, 2023 | Verified Review

    Great customer service. Dr Defazio is the best Dr.


  • Patient Review 50

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on August 02, 2023 | Verified Review

    About to start...


  • Patient Review 51

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 18, 2023 | Verified Review

    The kindness and all the clear answers to my questions from all the staff.


  • Patient Review 52

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 18, 2023 | Verified Review

    The way the Doctor explained in great detail the surgery pro and cons


  • Patient Review 53

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 12, 2023 | Verified Review

    Wonderful care.


  • Patient Review 54

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 11, 2023 | Verified Review

    Very smooth each step of the entire procedure. From checking in all the way through to check out. Very kind personnel.


  • Patient Review 55

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on June 20, 2023 | Verified Review

    I got a lot of support, care and information. Great doctors!


  • Patient Review 56

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on June 14, 2023 | Verified Review

    All staff were kind and helpful. The staff welcomed concerns and questions are communicated with each other to answer my questions prior to my visit ending. Dr. Defazio gave me quality time and made me feel at ease and open to any concerns and explained the process again. He was very thorough with my markings ensuring great results for my surgery.


  • Patient Review 57

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on June 13, 2023 | Verified Review

    EVERYTHING


  • Patient Review 58

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on June 06, 2023 | Verified Review

    Helpful, friendly, knowledgeable every step of the way!


  • Patient Review 59

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 25, 2023 | Verified Review

    They treat you like family very concerned Don???t want you to hurt I recommend MD Anderson to everyone.


  • Patient Review 60

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 24, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone was very kind and the facility was immaculate.


  • Patient Review 61

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 23, 2023 | Verified Review

    The people! Everyone is so kind. It really helps when you're going through this type of situation.


  • Patient Review 62

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 17, 2023 | Verified Review

    Never any surprises, always professional and caring.


  • Patient Review 63

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 16, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone has been great to work with. You can tell all the doctors are highly experienced and truly love what they do.


  • Patient Review 64

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 16, 2023 | Verified Review

    Knowledgeable, caring and friendly staff in every area of the Breast Oncology Department. Dr. DeFazio and his PA???s are always positive thoughtful, and encouraging and I feel confident that my healthcare is a priority.


  • Patient Review 65

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 10, 2023 | Verified Review

    The great communication with the staff an my Dr., Dr Defazio


  • Patient Review 66

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 10, 2023 | Verified Review

    It???s 2 years that I have bern a guest of MD Anderson 5 star treatment and everyone is efficient, kind, professional and timely. Each time I sadly hear that someone has been diagnosed with Cancer, i always ask???are you being treated at MD Anderson???? If so I always answer. You are in good hands. Thank you for taking good care of me


  • Patient Review 67

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 02, 2023 | Verified Review

    I appreciate how concern and passionate they are about your care.


  • Patient Review 68

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 13, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everyone was very thorough in explaining each procedure and made sure you understood what was going to happen. They were very kind and caring.


  • Patient Review 69

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 04, 2023 | Verified Review

    I have only one thing to say; Gratitude to all of you.


  • Patient Review 70

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 28, 2023 | Verified Review

    Every one took great care of me! I appreciate all the doctors, nurses and staff.


  • Patient Review 71

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 15, 2023 | Verified Review

    I felt heard and understood by Dr Michael DeFazio. I am a new patient, recently transferred from Stanford University Medical and I am very pleased with the care I am receiving.


  • Patient Review 72

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 11, 2023 | Verified Review

    na


  • Patient Review 73

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 10, 2023 | Verified Review

    Everything!


  • Patient Review 74

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 01, 2023 | Verified Review

    They are the kindest people, everybody that works there. I love my doctors, wouldn???t trade them for the world.


  • Patient Review 75

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 30, 2022 | Verified Review

    All staff are very pleasant, and professional. I love the atmosphere.. Both of my doctors Dr Pezzi and Dr DeFazio and very through, explaining everything step by step. I???m very happy that they are my doctors.


  • Patient Review 76

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 29, 2022 | Verified Review

    Dr DeFazio and team are so good! My life is in great hands.


  • Patient Review 77

    3.4 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 24, 2022 | Verified Review

    I was expected to sign an arbitration agreement with no forewarning before my appointment AND was told I could not be seen by the physician unless I signed the form. I refused to sign the form at this time. I had taken time off work for this appointment which was just to be a consultation to determine if I was even eligible for breast reconstructive surgery following breast cancer treatment. Once it is determined and agreed that surgery can be done, is approved by the insurance, and is being scheduled, I feel that is would be the time to sign the arbitration agreement. This has made me question the reputation and quality of the physicians in this group.


  • Patient Review 78

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 17, 2022 | Verified Review

    I like it because I felt their concern for my health . MDANDERSON went all the way in making sure I came out healthy . Thank you for your Care ????????


  • Patient Review 79

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 16, 2022 | Verified Review

    I have a lot of confidence in my surgeon.


  • Patient Review 80

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 15, 2022 | Verified Review

    Staff were attentive and professional at the same time. They were not in a hurry to flip rooms.


  • Patient Review 81

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 15, 2022 | Verified Review

    I felt like I was treated like a person, not just a patient.


  • Patient Review 82

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 02, 2022 | Verified Review

    Good customer service. On time appointments


  • Patient Review 83

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on July 01, 2022 | Verified Review

    Dr Johnson and her team are amazing. I feel to at ease being in this care.


  • Patient Review 84

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on June 26, 2022 | Verified Review

    Great doctors, Staff


  • Patient Review 85

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on June 09, 2022 | Verified Review

    My doctor seems to care about my health and preferences for my plan of care, even when I change my mind.


  • Patient Review 86

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on June 02, 2022 | Verified Review

    Everything about the team, facility, etc. is top notch! So happy we made the decision to go to MDA. We don???t live in Jacksonville, but it???s totally worth the drive!


  • Patient Review 87

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 26, 2022 | Verified Review

    Dr. Tismal is the Best her nurses are on Point, the check out team is always so sweet! my cancer is is in remission, i went to 3 hospitals before making my choice, love love my care , dr. Tismal is one of the best surgeons.


  • Patient Review 88

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 26, 2022 | Verified Review

    They explained everything in detail, and answered all my questions. During recovery they stayed on top of things and made sure I was not in pain or nauseated.


  • Patient Review 89

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 13, 2022 | Verified Review

    Everything, the doctors, nurses and staff. Everyone is so carrying it???s unbelievable ??????


  • Patient Review 90

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 12, 2022 | Verified Review

    Everyone is knowledgeable and puts the patient first.


  • Patient Review 91

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on May 06, 2022 | Verified Review

    Great Doctors


  • Patient Review 92

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 28, 2022 | Verified Review

    Amazing surgeons, ease of coordinating care, and appointments.


  • Patient Review 93

    1.8 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 28, 2022 | Verified Review

    It is unforgivable that a patient should wait over an hour to see a doctor, if it is a scheduling issue, a lack of specialist issue or an unforeseen emergency that occurred, the institution can invest in overhead tvs that would let you know when a doctor is running late. There is no excuse for not informing a patient, at the onset, not after the fact or indirectly, that their appointment is running late. I simply could not wait after that hour was passed and I was yet unseen by the doctor.


  • Patient Review 94

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 21, 2022 | Verified Review

    Caring, knowledge


  • Patient Review 95

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 21, 2022 | Verified Review

    My care and treatment were well organized . The Hospital, the Doctors and staff are and were wonderful! I am looked after , checked on , and called occasionally to see how I???m doing. First. Class ??????


  • Patient Review 96

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 15, 2022 | Verified Review

    Dr DeFazio's staff are professional, knowledgeable, patient, and good listeners.


  • Patient Review 97

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 15, 2022 | Verified Review

    Every moment of my experience was wonderful! From the moment I stepped inside the building for registration to my last appointment... I was impressed. Everyone is super sweet, helpful, kind and their energy is very welcoming and genuinely caring. I highly recommend!! My surgeon Dr Cathryn Johnson and her team are the absolute best and a great group of people. I love the time and attention they give u to ensure that u not only understand all of information being provided to u but they also make sure you're very comfortable, your mind is at ease and you feel safe in their care. And not just in the beginning.....even during your post appointments. Dr. Johnson personally called to check on me after my surgery. It's always a plus to know your Dr really cares enough to take a moment of the busy schedule and call you themself. She is the BEST. Her passion for what she does AND for my health could be seen and felt. I appreciate her! Thank you and it was a pleasure!!


  • Patient Review 98

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 14, 2022 | Verified Review

    The kind and caring staff; willing to spend as much time as needed; professional; no matter my need, they help me with it. Phenomenal staff and facility.


  • Patient Review 99

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 07, 2022 | Verified Review

    They are always so kind and knowledgeable.


  • Patient Review 100

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 07, 2022 | Verified Review

    The appt went well. My questions were answers to my satisfaction.


  • Patient Review 101

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 07, 2022 | Verified Review

    The whole staff ate the best.


  • Patient Review 102

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on April 01, 2022 | Verified Review

    Everyone was wonderful!


  • Patient Review 103

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 10, 2022 | Verified Review

    I felt like I had top-notch doctors with access to the latest tools and procedures and they were supported by compassionate trained medical staffs


  • Patient Review 104

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 10, 2022 | Verified Review

    Dedication to patients, attention and care. Have zero negative comments.


  • Patient Review 105

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 03, 2022 | Verified Review

    Time taken with patient was very constructive


  • Patient Review 106

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on March 03, 2022 | Verified Review

    Dr. Defasio is a very skilled and caring Physican.


  • Patient Review 107

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 25, 2022 | Verified Review

    Personalized care and attention.


  • Patient Review 108

    3.8 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 24, 2022 | Verified Review

    Services related to my cancer diagnosis were finally discussed and offered to me after several months of appointments and surgeries. I just was finally given info and choices about my long term medication.


  • Patient Review 109

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 10, 2022 | Verified Review

    I liked the hospital staff and my Doctors , Dr. Cathryn Johnson and Dr. DeFasio . ????????????


  • Patient Review 110

    4.6 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 10, 2022 | Verified Review

    My care at Baptist was professional. I especially liked the care given by the night nurse.


  • Patient Review 111

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 10, 2022 | Verified Review

    Exceptional attention during period of concern. Thank you.


  • Patient Review 112

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on February 03, 2022 | Verified Review

    The physicians and staff listened to me and genuinely cared about my well being. I felt like I had a voice.


  • Patient Review 113

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 30, 2022 | Verified Review

    How attentive my nursing staff was to needs. They would alway explain what and why they doing any of my care


  • Patient Review 114

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 28, 2022 | Verified Review

    I was given a thorough explanation on my options for my surgery and the risks and benefits of each. This is a stressful time and it feels so good to have faith in my Dr.


  • Patient Review 115

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 27, 2022 | Verified Review

    Everyone was so kind and caring


  • Patient Review 116

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 27, 2022 | Verified Review

    Md Anderson has been like family this past year . Everyone has been very attentive, professional , answered all questions


  • Patient Review 117

    3 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 20, 2022 | Verified Review

    Sometimes it feels as if I am not heard, and just rushed through. I have learned that I am my only advocate for myself


  • Patient Review 118

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 14, 2022 | Verified Review

    Very professional and caring from all staff personnel!!! And believe me I???ve been going through this since my diagnosis in 2009. Very impressed!


  • Patient Review 119

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 06, 2022 | Verified Review

    Excellent care from the doctors, nurses and all the other supportive personnel. They make me feel confident in that I am receiving the best treatment possible.


  • Patient Review 120

    5 out of 5 stars

    Reviewed on January 06, 2022 | Verified Review

    The entire team of Karen Tismal is the best. If I cannot get another team to return a call. I can call her team. And they return my call. I love them all.